34 organizations matching your criteria.

Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa

  • Non- Governmental and Other Organisations

  • Christianity

    • Road 1421, Houses 5 & 6 Gwarinpa II, Abuja, Nigeria

    • P.O Box 12135, Garki Abuja, Nigeria
  • recowacerao

  • English
  • Show


ECOWAS dedicates itself to the mission of evangelisation bearing in mind that this is the primary mission of the Church. In doing this, it is committed to following through the words of the Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ who came to serve and not to be served(Mt. 20:28). In fulfilling this mission, ECOWAS seeks partnership with the governments of our region to ensure a better life for our people.


AECAWA and CERAO (The Francophone Regional Episcopal Conferences of West Africa) have merged to become The Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (RECOWA). From September 1, 2009 both AECAWA and CERAO will cease to exist. AECAWA that was inaugurated in Ibadan, Nigeria in 1977, is one of the nine Regional Episcopal Conferences of the Catholic Church in Africa and Madagascar. A Regional Conference of this nature is a Conference, which comprises the Bishops of a few National/Inter-territorial Episcopal Conferences of a given region. AECAWA, in this case, is made up of the Ghana Catholic Bishops' Conference (GCBC), the Inter-Territorial Catholic Bishops' Conference (ITCABIC) comprising the Gambia, and Sierra Leone, the Catholic Bishops'Conference of Liberia (CABICOL) and the Catholic Bishops' Conference of Nigeria (CBCN).

IRD Activities

  • Inter Religious Dialogue and Ecumenism Commission (IRDEC)

    IRDEC is the Commission that fosters dialogue with other religions. Its main concerns include researching, publishing, and undertaking AECAWA inter-religious dialogue and Ecumenism projects. It facilitates, among other things, the understanding of other religions and the common concerns affecting them and Catholicity/Christianity.

  • Main Focus Countries of Activities

    Western Africa